EXCLUSIVE First look at the Cover Sleeve for the 2016 Edition of Doris Day’s ‘Love Album’!
Published: March 5, 2016

On 22 April 2016, Varese Sarabande release a new edition of Doris Day’s 28th original album The Love Album and we are pleased to give you all a preview of the cover sleeve!

As any keen follower of Doris’ life and career will know this will be the 3rd version of ‘The Love Album’ which was recorded in 1967 after Doris finished her long-term recording contract with Columbia Records.  Although the project was intended for release at the time this was not to be. Instead it was completely forgotten after some pretty dramatic events in Ms Day’s private life which included the death of her husband Marty Melcher. ‘The Love Album’ became the “Lost” album and vanished into obscurity until the summer of 1993 when Doris Day’s son Terry Melcher suddenly came across the album’s original master tapes. This very personal collection of songs chosen by Doris made its world début in 1994 in Great Britain; a US version followed in 2006.

We understand that the 2016 edition of  ‘The Love Album will be packaged for the first time with artwork from the actual year the album was recorded including the previously unpublished cover photo taken from a promotional photo shoot for Doris’ last motion picture “With Six You Get Eggroll”. The back of booklet photo will be a shot of Doris in an orange gown lounging on sofa whilst the back cover of the CD features a previously unpublished colour shot of Doris on bicycle taken in 1970 during filming of her “Doris Mary Anne Kappelhoff” CBS-TV special that aired in the spring and summer of 1971. Three songs from this special are included as bonus tracks (as with the 2006 U.S. edition) but these have been newly enhanced and remastered. Liner notes by Will Friedwald have also been updated and additional 1967-1970 photographs also appear on the inside packaging.

Additionally, the disc art for the 2016 issue replicates the rare 1960s Arwin Records label as featured on the two albums issued on Arwin in the 1960s by Martin Broones and CV Polk. Arwin Records, owned by Doris and her late husband Martin Melcher and, later, son Terry Melcher, primarily issued 45 rpm single records from the late 1950s through mid-1960s. The only Doris disc originally released on Arwin was a single of two religious recordings “David’s Psalm” and “The Everlasting Arms", which were also issued on Columbia Records. In 2012, Doris’ American release of her My Heart album was issued on Arwin.


Label: Varese Sarabande

  1. For All We Know
  2. Snuggled on Your Shoulder
  3. Are You Lonesome Tonight?
  4. Wonderful One
  5. Street of Dreams
  6. Oh, How I Miss You Tonight
  7. Life Is Just a Bowl of Cherries
  8. All Alone
  9. Faded Summer Love
  10. Sleepy Lagoon
  11. If I Had My Life to Live Over/Let Me Call You Sweetheart
  12. Both Sides Now (Bonus Track; Stereo Recording)
  13. It’s Magic (Bonus Track; Live Mono Recording)
  14. Sentimental Journey (Bonus Track; Live Mono Recording)